Home Home

Home Home cover
Young Adult

Home Home

$ 17.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now

Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home.

Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever.

Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus trips are never-ending and loud. She just wants to be home home, in Trinidad, where her only friend is going to school and Sunday church service like she used to do.

But this new home also brings unexpected surprises: the chance at a family that loves unconditionally, the possibility of new friends, and the promise of a hopeful future. Though she doesn't see it yet, Canada is a place where she can feel at home--if she can only find the courage to be honest with herself.

"Allen-Agostini uses frank yet gentle prose...[in this] hopeful story about finding one's place and the sometimes-difficult journey to self-acceptance."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

"An accessible look at teen anxiety and depression...[Home Home] shines in its depictions of the physical and emotional aspects of anxiety and depression...[and] teens of color coping with mental illness will find common cause with this Trini girl's journey toward self-actualization and healing."--Booklist

"Allen-Agostini depicts the culture of her homeland with honesty and enlightening details,...delivering important messages about acceptance and mental illness."-SLJ

Lisa Allen-Agostini is a widely published novelist, journalist, and poet from Trinidad and Tobago. She writes primarily about the Caribbean, its people, and its culture. Lisa lives in Trinidad with her family; her dog, Sassy; and her fabulous cat, Fennec. Home Home is her second novel for young adults and a CODE Burt Award finalist. To learn more about Lisa, visit lisaallen-agostini.com and follow @AllenAgostini on Twitter.

ISBN: 9781984893581

ISBN-10: 9781984893581

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: 05/26/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 05/26/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 160

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Girls & Women

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Mental Illness

Young Adult Fiction / People & Places / Caribbean & Latin America