We have expanded our in-store Used Book Buying hours to Fridays & Saturdays from 10am-4pm! Visit us downstairs.

Learn more

The Orphan House: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction

The Orphan House: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction cover

The Orphan House: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction

$ 10.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Click to Order)
This item may not be available to order. Please call 617-566-6660 for more information.

As she looks at the baby wriggling in her father's arms, a bolt of recognition goes through her and she takes a step back. And it's in that moment that she begins to protect her father's secrets.

1934, Weirfield-on-Thames. Connie Burroughs loves living in the orphanage that her father runs. Exploring its nooks and crannies with her sister, hearing the pounding of a hundred pairs of feet on the wooden stairs, having a father who is doing so much good. But everything changes the day she sees him carrying a newborn baby that he says he found near the broken front gate. A baby she recognises...

Present day. Arriving at her father's beloved cottage beside the river, Sarah Jennings is hoping for peace and quiet, to escape her difficult divorce. But when she finds her father unwell and hunched over boxes of files on the orphanage where he was abandoned as a child, she decides to investigate it herself.

The only person left alive who lived at Cedar Hall is Connie Burroughs, but Connie sits quietly in her nursing home for a reason. The sewing box under Connie's bed hides secrets that will change Sarah's life forever, uncovering a connection between them that has darker consequences than she could ever imagine.

A heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting tale inspired by the lives of the children who lived at the author's great-grandfather's orphanage. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan's Tale and The Orphan Train will be hooked.

What readers are saying about The Orphan House:


'Oh my goodness. What an amazing story of life, love, loss and finding yourself... awe inspiring. I honestly am left reeling. This is my first book from this author, although it definitely will not be my last. Thank you for a journey that I will not soon forget.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'An amazing and spellbinding read. Exceptionally well done. I hated when it ended.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Wonderful storytelling I have just finished reading this book and I'm bereft I was able, for a few days, to lose myself completely in the story... I highly recommend this book to anyone.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'True to life and totally believable. The plot was intriguing, and the delivery was perfect.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved this book... captures so many emotions... couldn't put it down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'This was a fantastic read... it lured me in and I ended up hooked. By about the halfway point, I was completely captivated by the story and the mystery kept me guessing as I tried to figure it out... beautifully written.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

This book was previously published as The Foundling's Daughter.

ISBN: 9781838881566

ISBN-10: 9781838881566

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 02/28/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 02/28/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 330

Language: English

Categories

Romance - Historical - 20th Century

Romance - Historical - General

More by Ann Bennett

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Orphan House Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Roots and Wings: Virginia Tanner's Dance Life and Legacy Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    As Time Goes by Cover Image
  • Passages Cover Image
  • Fight of the Century: Writers Reflect on 100 Years of Landmark ACLU Cases Cover Image
  • The Runaway Sisters: A heartbreaking and unforgettable World War 2 historical novel Cover Image
  • Dragonflies at Night: More Than a Love Story Cover Image
  • The Tea Planter's Club Cover Image
  • Find Me Cover Image