We have expanded our in-store Used Book Buying hours to Fridays & Saturdays from 10am-4pm! Visit us downstairs.

Learn more

The Mending Summer

The Mending Summer cover

The Mending Summer

By  Ali Standish , Read by  Jesse Vilinsky
$ 39.99
Add to Wish List
Pre-Order (Not Yet Available)

Perfect for fans of Orphan Island and Wishtree, The Mending Summer is the next stunning middle grade novel from Ali Standish--author of the Carnegie Medal nominee The Ethan I Was Before and August Isle, Bad Bella, and How to Disappear Completely--about a girl who is struggling to deal with her father's alcoholism when she discovers an enchanted lake...

Some summers are meant to break your heart. Others to mend it. Every once in a while, a summer rolls around that does both.

For Georgia, this summer is shaping up to be a big disappointment. Mama is busy studying for her biology degree. Daddy is working nights, and often the man who comes home isn't Daddy. He's a man who looks like Daddy, but walks a little wobbly. Who sounds like Daddy, but sings a little too loud. Georgia calls him the Shadow Man.

So now, instead of riding horses with her friends at camp, Georgia is sent off to the country to stay with her mysterious great-aunt for the summer to avoid her parents' fighting.

There, a lonely Georgia meets a mysterious friend named Angela and together, they discover a magical lake--one that can make wishes come true. At first, the lake offers Georgia a thrilling escape from her worries and hope that she can use its magic to heal her family. But as things grow worse at home, a troubled boy appears at the lake and the wishes threaten to spiral out of control . . .

Award-winning author Ali Standish explores the courage it takes to piece your heart back together again when those closest to you break it.

ISBN: 9781665078368

ISBN-10: 9781665078368

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: 05/25/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 05/25/2021 - 12:00am

Language: English

Categories

Social Themes - Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse

Social Themes - Friendship

Social Themes - Emotions & Feelings

More by Ali Standish

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Lib/E Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    How to Disappear Completely Cover Image
  • Bad Bella Cover Image
  • How to Disappear Completely Cover Image
  • How to Disappear Completely Cover Image
  • How to Disappear Completely Lib/E Cover Image