To look after the well-being of our staff, we will be closing the store early January 17 – 30

New Temporary Hours: Sunday 10am – 8pm, Monday-Saturday 8:30am – 8pm

Brookline Booksmith Members, Save the Date: January 22

20% off Biannual Member Sale, In-Store and Online. Not a Member? Renew or Become One Today

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change cover

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

$ 28.00
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Available to Order)

*A New York Times Editor's Choice pick
*Shortlisted for the 2022 Pacific
 Northwest Book Awards

A beloved natural historian explores how climate change is driving evolution  

In Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists. 

A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

Thor Hanson is a conservation biologist, Guggenheim Fellow, and author of award winning books including Buzz, Feathers, The Impenetrable Forest, and The Triumph of Seeds. He lives with his wife and son on an island in Washington State.
www.thorhanson.net