When You Were Everything

For fans of Nina LaCour's We Are Okay and Adam Silvera's History Is All You Left Me, this heartfelt and ultimately uplifting novel follows one sixteen-year-old girl's friend breakup through two concurrent timelines--ultimately proving that even endings can lead to new beginnings.

"Stunning." --Nic Stone, bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out

You can't rewrite the past, but you can always choose to start again.

It's been twenty-seven days since Cleo and Layla's friendship imploded.

Nearly a month since Cleo realized they'll never be besties again.

Now Cleo wants to erase every memory, good or bad, that tethers her to her ex-best friend. But pretending Layla doesn't exist isn't as easy as Cleo hoped, especially after she's assigned to be Layla's tutor. Despite budding friendships with other classmates--and a raging crush on a gorgeous boy named Dom--Cleo's turbulent past with Layla comes back to haunt them both.

Alternating between time lines of Then and Now, When You Were Everything blends past and present into an emotional story about the beauty of self-forgiveness, the promise of new beginnings, and the courage it takes to remain open to love.

"Breathtakingly beautiful....Woodfolk has a way of making words sing and burst with light." --Tiffany D. Jackson, award-winning author of Monday's Not Coming and Let Me Hear A Rhyme

Ashley Woodfolk has loved reading and writing for as long as she can remember. She graduated from Rutgers University with a BA English and currently works in children's book publishing. She wrote her first book, The Beauty That Remains, from a sunny Brooklyn apartment where she lives with her cute husband and her cuter dog. When You Were Everything is her second novel. Find her online at ashleywoodfolk.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @AshWrites

ISBN: 9781524715915

ISBN-10: 9781524715915

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: 03/10/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 03/10/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 400

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship

Young Adult Fiction / Diversity & Multicultural

More by Ashley Woodfolk

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Made by History: A Biography of Michelle and Barack Obama Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Made by History: A Biography of Michelle and Barack Obama Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Noelle: The Mean Girl #3 (Flyy Girls #3) Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Noelle: The Mean Girl #3 (Flyy Girls #3) Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    When You Were Everything Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Micah: The Good Girl #2 (Flyy Girls #2) Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Lux: The New Girl #1 (Flyy Girls #1) Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Micah: The Good Girl #2 (Flyy Girls #2) Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Lux: The New Girl #1 (Flyy Girls #1) Cover Image