Shop early this holiday season! ONLINE and BY PHONE, enjoy curbside pickup or shipping. IN PERSON, we are now open 7 days a week, 10am - 8pm.

Learn More

Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel (The Emmeline Lake Chronicles #1)

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

“Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy AJ Pearce’s debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women’s lives in wartime Britain” (Library Journal)—a love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. “Headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight” (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is “funny and poignant…about the strength of women and the importance of friendship” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).

AJ Pearce grew up in Hampshire, England. She studied at the University of Sussex and Northwestern University. A chance discovery of a 1939 women’s magazine became the inspiration for her international bestseller, Dear Mrs. Bird, the first novel in The Emmeline Lake Chronicles series. She lives in the south of England. 

ISBN: 9781501170065

ISBN-10: 9781501170065

Publisher: Scribner

Publication Date: 07/03/2018 - 12:00am

On Sale: 07/03/2018 - 12:00am

Pages: 288

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Historical

Fiction / Coming of Age

Fiction / Humorous

More by AJ Pearce

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Yours Cheerfully: A Novel (The Emmeline Lake Chronicles #2) Cover Image
  • Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel (The Emmeline Lake Chronicles #1) Cover Image
  • Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel (The Emmeline Lake Chronicles #1) Cover Image