The Unexpected Waltz

From the author of the critically acclaimed debut Love in Mid Air comes this moving novel about a middle-aged widow who finds her feet by embracing a new hobby: ballroom dancing.

Kelly Wilder becomes recently widowed from a much older wealthy man with whom she spent her married life doing charity work, building a lovely home, and, as she says, “pretending to be a whole lot more conservative and stupid and nicer than I really am.”

Now, with too much time and money on her hands, Kelly has absolutely no idea what happens next. So on a whim she signs up for a ballroom dancing class, and slowly, step by high-heeled step, begins to rebuild her life with the help of friends old and new: Nik, a young Russian dance teacher who sees the artistic potential she left behind; Carolina, a woman in hospice, anxious to experience a whole lifetime in a few months; and Elyse, Kelly’s girlhood best friend who knows all of her past secrets—including the truth about the man who long ago broke Kelly’s heart.

In the vein of Jennifer Weiner's novels, Unexpected Waltz is a deeply felt story about moving on after loss and finding a new walk—or dance—of life through the power of second chances.

Kim Wright is the author of Love in Mid Air, The Unexpected Waltz, The Canterbury Sisters, and Last Ride to Graceland. A two-time winner of the Lowell Thomas Award for travel writing, she has been writing about travel, food, and wine for more than twenty years for magazines such as Wine Spectator, Self, Travel & Leisure, and Vogue. She also ballroom dances competitively. Kim lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

ISBN: 9781476754222

ISBN-10: 9781476754222

Publisher: Gallery Books

Publication Date: 06/03/2014 - 12:00am

On Sale: 06/03/2014 - 12:00am

Pages: 288

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Contemporary Women

Fiction / Romance / Contemporary

Family & Relationships / Friendship

More by Kim Wright

  • Letters to My Brother: Year One Cover Image
  • Lawyers as Changemakers: The Global Integrative Law Movement Cover Image
  • How to Prevent Autism: Expert Advice from Medical Professionals Cover Image
  • The Best American Erotica, Volume 14: Dangerous Games Cover Image
  • Last Ride to Graceland Cover Image
  • Last Ride to Graceland Cover Image
  • Last Ride to Graceland Cover Image
  • Las Chicas de Canterbury Cover Image
  • A Mother's Dream Cover Image