More space! More gifts! Our store expansion is open. Stop by to shop early for the holidays!

Learn More

The Book of V.: A Novel

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK

A BELLETRIST BOOK CLUB PICK

For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day.


Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

In Anna Solomon's The Book of V., these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years.

Anna Solomon is the author of Leaving Lucy Pear and The Little Bride and a two-time winner of the Pushcart Prize. Her short fiction and essays have appeared in publications including The New York Times Magazine, One Story, Ploughshares, Slate, and more. Coeditor with Eleanor Henderson of Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today’s Best Women Writers, Solomon was born and raised in Gloucester, Massachusetts, and lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two children.

ISBN: 9781250257017

ISBN-10: 9781250257017

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Publication Date: 05/05/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 05/05/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 320

Categories

Fiction / Women

Fiction / Jewish

More by Anna Solomon

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Book of V.: A Novel Cover Image
  • The Book of V Cover Image
  • The Book of V.: A Novel Cover Image
  • The Book of V.: A Novel Cover Image
  • Leaving Lucy Pear: A Novel Cover Image
  • Anna Mae's Mac n Cheese Cover Image
  • Leaving Lucy Pear Cover Image
  • Leaving Lucy Pear: A Novel Cover Image
  • Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today's Best Women Writers Cover Image