Join us this Saturday 9/18, for our Annual Used Book Cellar 40% off already-amazing-prices sale! Find us downstairs at 279 Harvard. 

This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II cover

This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

$ 17.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now

Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.


“I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

Born in Manhattan and raised in Hong Kong, ANDREW FUKUDA currently resides on Long Island, New York. After earning a bachelor's degree in history from Cornell University, Fukuda went on to work as a criminal prosecutor in New York City. He now writes full time. He is the author of The Hunt, The Prey, and The Trap.

ISBN: 9781250192387

ISBN-10: 9781250192387

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publication Date: 01/07/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 01/07/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 384

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Historical / Holocaust

Young Adult Fiction / Historical / Military & Wars

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism