This Saturday, 4/24, please join us at the store to celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with fabulous raffles, freebies, and family-friendly activities!

It’s a one-day, national, indie appreciation party!

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1)

Instant New York Times Bestseller
TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
TIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazines 30 Best YA Novels of 2018

Newsweeks 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globes Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemis West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.


They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zlie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zlies Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zlie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zlie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zlie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zlie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

The epic Ive been waiting for. New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic! New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

The next big thing in literature and film. Ebony

One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year. Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1
New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

Named one of TIME magazine's 100 most influential people, Tomi Adeyemi is a Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Nigerian-American writer and storyteller based in Los Angeles, CA. After graduating from Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. Her first novel, Children of Blood and Bone, debuted at #1 on The New York Times Bestseller list and is being developed into a movie by Disney's Fox & Lucasfilm. Its highly anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, also debuted at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller list. When shes not working or playing with puppies, Tomi can be found teaching creative writing at thewritersroadmap.net. In 2020, she was named one of Forbes 30 Under 30 in Media, and her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writers Digest.

ISBN: 9781250170972

ISBN-10: 9781250170972

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Publication Date: 03/06/2018 - 12:00am

On Sale: 03/06/2018 - 12:00am

Pages: 544

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy

Young Adult Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism

More by Tomi Adeyemi

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
  • Children of Blood and Bone Cover Image
  • Awaken the Magic: A Children of Blood and Bone Journal (Legacy of Orisha) Cover Image
  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance Cover Image
  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha #2) Cover Image
  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha #2) Cover Image
  • Children of Blood and Bone: The Orisha Legacy (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
  • Children of Blood and Bone Cover Image
  • Hijos de Sangre Y Hueso Cover Image