The Perfume Garden: A Novel (Paperback)

The Perfume Garden: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Backordered

Description


A sensuously written international bestseller of lost love, family secrets, and the art of creating a perfect perfume, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tatiana de Rosnay.

High in the hills of Valencia, a forgotten house guards its secrets. Untouched since Franco's forces tore through Spain in 1936, the whitewashed walls have crumbled, and the garden, laden with orange blossom, grows wild. Emma Temple, London's leading perfumer, is the first to unlock its doors in seventy years. Her free-spirited mother has just passed away, leaving her the house mysteriously purchased just before her death. At the same time, Emma broke up with her long-time lover and business partner, although she carries his baby.

Guided by a series of letters and a key bequeathed to her in her mother's will, Emma makes it her mission to restore the beautiful but decaying house to its former glory. But for her aging grandmother, Freya, a British nurse who stayed in Valencia during Spain's devastating civil war, Emma's new home evokes memories of a terrible secret, a part of her family's past that until now has managed to stay hidden. With two beautifully interwoven narratives and a lush, atmospheric setting, Kate Lord Brown's The Perfume Garden is a dramatic, emotional debut that readers won't soon forget.

About the Author


KATE LORD BROWN grew up in a wild and beautiful part of Devon, England, and was first published while at school. After studying philosophy at Durham University and art history at the Courtauld Institute, she worked as an art consultant, curating collections for palaces and embassies in Europe and the Middle East. Kate won the BBC International Radio Playwriting Competition, Middle East region, in 2014; was a finalist in ITV's The People's Author competition 2009; and has an MA in creative writing. The Perfume Garden was shortlisted for the UK Romantic Novel of the Year 2014. She lives in the Middle East with her family, and is working on her next novel.

Praise For…


"At its core, this is a love story celebrating both romantic and parental love, a tale that fans of romantic women's fiction will enjoy." —Booklist

"Beautifully written and researched, this is an intensely atmospheric read, and a hugely enjoyable one." —Isabel Wolff, international bestselling author of A Vintage Affair

"Sweepingly romantic . . . heartbreaking at times; a vivid, gripping read." —Katherine Webb, international bestselling author of The Legacy



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250091406
ISBN-10: 1250091403
Publisher: A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: May 10th, 2016
Pages: 336
Language: English