Try Ask a Bookseller to have our knowledgable booksellers deliver personalized recommendations directly to you!

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel cover

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel

$ 15.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now

National Bestseller

"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine--her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self-doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!"--Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

Alexis Daria writes stories about successful Latinx characters and their (occasionally messy) familias. Her debut Take the Lead won the 2018 RITA® Award for “Best First Book” and her latest release, You Had Me at Hola, is a national bestseller, Target Diverse Book Club Pick, and New York Times Editor’s Choice Pick. Alexis is a lifelong New Yorker who loves Broadway musicals and pizza.   

ISBN: 9780062959928

ISBN-10: 9780062959928

Publisher: Avon

Publication Date: 08/04/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 08/04/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 384

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy

Fiction / Romance / Multicultural & Interracial

Fiction / Women

More by Alexis Daria

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Take the Lead: A Dance Off Novel Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    A Lot Like Adiós: A Novel Cover Image
  • You Had Me at Hola: A Novel Cover Image
  • You Had Me at Hola Cover Image
  • You Had Me at Hola Cover Image
  • You Had Me at Hola Lib/E Cover Image
  • Dance All Night Cover Image
  • Feminisms in Motion: Voices for Justice, Liberation, and Transformation Cover Image