We have extended our STORE HOURS!

Monday 8:30am-9pm, Tuesday-Saturday 8:30am-10pm, Sunday 10am-9pm 

This Will Be Funny Someday

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel comes to high school in acclaimed author Katie Henry’s coming-of-age YA contemporary about a girl who accidentally falls into the world of stand-up comedy. Perfect for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli!

Sixteen-year-old Izzy is used to keeping her thoughts to herself—in school, where her boyfriend does the talking for her, and at home, where it’s impossible to compete with her older siblings and high-powered parents.

When she mistakenly walks into a stand-up comedy club and performs, the experience is surprisingly cathartic. After the show, she meets Mo, an aspiring comic who’s everything Izzy’s not: bold, confident, comfortable in her skin. Mo invites Izzy to join her group of friends and introduces her to the Chicago open mic scene.

The only problem? Her new friends are college students—and Izzy tells them she’s one, too. Now Izzy, the dutiful daughter and model student, is sneaking out to perform stand-up with her comedy friends. Her controlling boyfriend is getting suspicious, and her former best friend knows there’s something going on.

But Izzy loves comedy and this newfound freedom. As her two parallel lives collide—in the most hilarious of ways—Izzy must choose to either hide what she really wants and who she really is, or finally, truly stand up for herself.

* Rise: A Feminist Book Project Book of the Year * A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book of the Year *

Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous, Let’s Call It a Doomsday, and This Will Be Funny Someday, is a writer living and working in New York City. She received her BFA in dramatic writing from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and is a published playwright, specializing in theater for young audiences. Her plays have been performed by high schools and community organizations in over thirty states. You can find her online at www.katiehenrywrites.com.

ISBN: 9780062955708

ISBN-10: 9780062955708

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Publication Date: 01/19/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 01/19/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 400

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Humorous

Young Adult Fiction / Performing Arts

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship