Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #1)

“Absolutely charming... a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” – Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride Test

USA TODAY BESTSELLER

A witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new thingsperfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

  • Enjoy a drunken night out.
  • Ride a motorcycle.
  • Go camping.
  • Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
  • Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
  • And... do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

"This is an extraordinary book, full of love, generosity, kindness and sharp humor." — The New York Times Book Review

*A Book of the Month, Indie Next, and Library Reads Pick for November*

*Featured on the TODAY Show! Named a Best Romance of 2019 by Entertainment Weekly, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Apple, and Amazon, and Best of November from Essence, Woman's Day, Marie Claire, Buzzfeed, Popsugar, Bustle, Bookish, Bookpage, Entertainment Weekly, and Washington Post*

USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestseller Talia Hibbert is a Black British author who lives in a bedroom full of books. Supposedly, there is a world beyond that room, but she has yet to drum up enough interest to investigate. She writes sexy, diverse romance because she believes that people of marginalised identities need honest and positive representation. Her interests include beauty, junk food, and unnecessary sarcasm.

Chloe Brown is chronically ill. Getting through life is a painful business and her family is a bit smothering. When she decides she is DONE with being boring, a list is made; an apartment secured; and the super, Red, is recruited to assist. They don't necessarily get along at first, but since when did that hurt a love story?

ISBN: 9780062941206

ISBN-10: 9780062941206

Publisher: Avon

Publication Date: 11/05/2019 - 12:00am

On Sale: 11/05/2019 - 12:00am

Pages: 384

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy

Fiction / Romance / Multicultural & Interracial

Fiction / Women

More by Talia Hibbert

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Act Your Age, Eve Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #3) Cover Image
  • Work For It Cover Image
  • Take a Hint, Dani Brown: The Brown Sisters #02 [With Battery] Cover Image
  • Take a Hint, Dani Brown Lib/E Cover Image
  • Take a Hint, Dani Brown Cover Image
  • Take a Hint, Dani Brown Cover Image
  • Take a Hint, Dani Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #2) Cover Image
  • Get a Life, Chloe Brown Cover Image
  • Undone by the Ex-Con Cover Image