This Saturday, 4/24, please join us at the store to celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with fabulous raffles, freebies, and family-friendly activities!

It’s a one-day, national, indie appreciation party!

Bad Bella

Bad Bella cover

Bad Bella

$ 7.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Click to Order)

“Bella, Bella, Bella!  A wonderful, funny, heartfelt tale of a very good ‘bad’ dog, and her enduring quest for that thing we all seek:  a place to call home.  I loved this book!  I love Bella!” —Garth Stein, New York Times bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain

Perfect for fans of Racing in the Rain and Because of Winn Dixie! Ali Standish, author of the critically acclaimed The Ethan I Was Before and August Isle, delivers a rebarkable tale of one extraordinary pup’s search for a new family, inspired by her real-life rescue dog Bella.

Bella is the very best dog a family could ask for. Only her family, the McBrides, don’t see it that way.

Ever since Mrs. McBride’s belly started growing, they don’t seem to appreciate the way Bella cleans the crumbs from the kitchen floor or how she’s always willing to play fetch after a long day. And when Bella’s valiant attempt to save the Christmas tree ends in disaster, she finds herself being swiftly abandoned at the pound.

As the reality sinks in that she is unwanted, Bella is heartbroken. Where did she go wrong?

Things look bleak until a kind couple, the Roses, take Bella in. Her new life is filled with wonderful things like parks and snowballs, vanilla ice cream, and the National Geographic Channel. But as the weather turns cold again, the Roses start acting strangely and Bella wonders if she can really trust them. Do they actually love her, or is history about to repeat itself?

And will Bella be able to find a true home in time for Christmas this year?  

Ali Standish, author of the critically acclaimed The Ethan I Was Before, August Isle, and Bad Bella, grew up in North Carolina and spent several years as an educator in the Washington, DC, public school system. She has an MFA in children’s writing from Hollins University and an MPhil in children’s literature from the University of Cambridge. She lives in Raleigh with her husband, Aki, and their two rescue dogs, Bella and Keeper. You can visit her online at www.alistandish.com.

ISBN: 9780062893260

ISBN-10: 9780062893260

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: 09/22/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 09/22/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 192

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Dogs

Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Pets

Juvenile Fiction / Family / Adoption

More by Ali Standish

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    The Mending Summer Lib/E Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    How to Disappear Completely Cover Image
  • Bad Bella Cover Image
  • How to Disappear Completely Lib/E Cover Image
  • How to Disappear Completely Cover Image
  • How to Disappear Completely Cover Image