Join us Saturday, June 26 for our 20% off Bi-annual Member Sale, instore and online. Not yet a member of the Booksmith, click here to become one today!

The Best at It

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series. A Stonewall Honor Book!

Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you’re really good at and become the BEST at it.

Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul’s brain. While he’s not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won’t be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn’t the best at anything?

Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth. 

Maulik Pancholy is an award-winning actor whose career has spanned hit television shows (30 Rock, Whitney), animated favorites (Phineas and Ferb, Sanjay and Craig), the Broadway stage, and films. He served on President Barack Obama’s Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and he is the cofounder of the anti-bullying campaign Act to Change. Maulik lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his husband, Ryan, and his dog, T-Rex. The Best at It is his debut novel.

ISBN: 9780062866424

ISBN-10: 9780062866424

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: 10/06/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 10/06/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 336

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Adolescence & Coming of Age

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Bullying

Juvenile Fiction / LGBT

More by Maulik Pancholy

  • The Best at It Cover Image
  • The Best at It Cover Image
  • The Best at It Cover Image