Happy New Year from all of us at Brookline Booksmith!  We are open and ready for browsing!

Learn more

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it’s time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.

Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris…like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making.

But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life—along with the people who have found their way into his heart.

Ben Philippe is a New York–based writer and screenwriter, born in Haiti and raised in Montreal, Canada. He has a Bachelor of Arts from Columbia University and an MFA in fiction and screenwriting from the Michener Center for Writers in Austin, Texas. He also teaches film studies and screenwriting at Barnard College. He is the author of the William C. Morris Award–winning novel The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Find him online at www.benphilippe.com.

ISBN: 9780062824127

ISBN-10: 9780062824127

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: 01/07/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 01/07/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 384

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Humorous

Young Adult Fiction / Coming of Age

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration

More by Ben Philippe

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Sure, I'll Be Your Black Friend: Notes from the Other Side of the Fist Bump Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Sure, I'll Be Your Black Friend: Notes from the Other Side of the Fist Bump Cover Image
  • Charming as a Verb Lib/E Cover Image
  • Charming as a Verb Cover Image
  • Charming as a Verb Cover Image
  • Charming as a Verb Cover Image
  • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager Cover Image
  • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager Cover Image
  • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager Cover Image