Enjoy 50% off select gifts and specialty foods at our Annual Summer Sidewalk Sale, July 31 thru August, while supplies last!

Rules for Being a Girl

Rules for Being a Girl cover

Candace Bushnell, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days, team up to write a fierce, propulsive novel about a girl who is preyed upon by a manipulative teacher and finds the power to fight back. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Laurie Halse Anderson.

It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl. . . .

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright—and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk books with her.

But when “Bex” takes things too far and comes on to Marin, she’s shocked and horrified. Had she somehow led him on? Was it her fault?

When Marin works up the courage to tell the administration what happened, no one believes her. She’s forced to face Bex in class every day. Except now, he has an ax to grind.

But Marin isn’t about to back down. She uses the school newspaper to fight back and she starts a feminist book club at school. She finds allies—and even romance—in the most unexpected people, like Gray Kendall, who she’d always dismissed as just another lacrosse bro.

As things heat up at school and in her personal life, Marin must figure out how to take back the power and write her own rules.

Candace Bushnell is the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of The Carrie Diaries, Sex and the City, Is There Still Sex in the City?, Lipstick Jungle, One Fifth Avenue, 4 Blondes, Trading Up, and Summer and the City, which have sold millions of copies. Sex and the City was the basis for the HBO hit shows and films, and its prequel, The Carrie Diaries, was the basis for the CW television show of the same name. Lipstick Jungle became a popular television show on NBC. Is There Still Sex in the City? is in development with Paramount Television. Candace lives in New York City and Sag Harbor. Visit her at www.candacebushnell.com.



Katie Cotugno is the New York Times bestselling author of six romantic young adult novels, including 99 Days and You Say It First, all published by Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins. She is also the co-author, along with Candace Bushnell, of Rules for Being a Girl. In addition to her young adult novels, she has ghostwritten six romance novels and self-published three more under the pen name Ruby McNally. Learn more about Katie at katiecotugno.com. 

ISBN: 9780062803375

ISBN-10: 9780062803375

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: 04/07/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 04/07/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 304

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Dating & Sex