Join us this Saturday 9/18, for our Annual Used Book Cellar 40% off already-amazing-prices sale! Find us downstairs at 279 Harvard. 

Magic Marks the Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1)

Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle?!

Caroline Carlson's funny tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

Caroline Carlson is the author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series and The World's Greatest Detective. She holds an MFA in writing for children from Vermont College of Fine Arts and lives with her family in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. You can visit her online at www.carolinecarlsonbooks.com.

ISBN: 9780062194343

ISBN-10: 9780062194343

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: 09/10/2013 - 12:00am

On Sale: 09/10/2013 - 12:00am

Pages: 368

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / Pirates

Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic

Juvenile Fiction / Humorous Stories