To honor Mental Health Awareness Month, join us in supporting the

Brookline Center for Community Mental Health’s Believe in Brookline Kids Campaign at our registers or directly here.

Voice of America: Stories

Voice of America: Stories cover

Voice of America: Stories

$ 14.99
Unavailable Online - Please Call 617-566-6660 For More Information

“E.C. Osondu is a man with a clear head and a great ear, writing from crucial places.” —Jonathan Franzen, author of Freedom and The Corrections

“With observant wonder and subtle humor, [Osondu] portrays…our unique capacity for hope and hopelessness rolled together.” —Mary Gaitskill, author of Bad Behavior and Veronica

This collection of vivid, compulsively readable stories marks the debut of Nigerian author E.C. Osondu, winner of the 2009 Caine Prize for African Writing. In the tradition of Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, J.M. Coetzee, and Chinua Achebe (all patrons of the Caine Prize), Osondu’s stories are wise, soul-stirring, and deeply compelling. In electrifying prose, he articulate the struggles of Nigerian immigrants in America, and refugees, villagers, and ex-patriots in Africa. Voice of America marks the beginning for a brave and remarkable new voice in African Literature.

E. C. Osondu is the author of Voice of America. Born in Nigeria, he received his MFA from Syracuse University and is the winner of the Caine Prize for African Writing and a Pushcart Prize. His fiction has appeared in The Atlantic, n+1, Guernica, and other publications. He teaches at Providence College in Rhode Island.

ISBN: 9780061990878

ISBN-10: 9780061990878

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Publication Date: 10/25/2011 - 12:00am

On Sale: 10/25/2011 - 12:00am

Pages: 224

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Short Stories (single author)

Fiction / Cultural Heritage

Fiction / Literary