212: A Novel (Ellie Hatcher #3) (Large Print / Paperback)

212: A Novel (Ellie Hatcher #3) Cover Image
$25.99
Backordered

Description


“The plot of an Alafair Burke thriller doesn’t just rip from the headlines. She’s one step ahead of them. 212 scares you and keeps you turning the pages into the wee hours.”
—Harlan Coben

“Burke has created a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone.… Utterly authentic.”
Boston Globe

212 is acclaimed author—and former deputy district attorney—Alafair Burke’s gripping thriller featuring hip, Manhattan-based detective Ellie Hatcher. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, and PJ Tracy will find it hard to put 212 down until the very last page.

Praise For…


“The plot of an Alafair Burke thriller doesn’t just rip from the headlines. She’s one step ahead of them. 212 scares you and keeps you turning the pages into the wee hours.”

“Burke’s prose is clear and fast, and every move by investigators and officers of the court is the real deal. She explores genuine contemporary questions in a revealing and thoughtful way.... Her plot is always dynamic and intelligent. 212 is engineered to wring double-whammy suspense out of credible peril.”

“Starts the suspense on the very first page and doesn’t stop until the last sentence. . . . Hatcher and Rogan are a dream team, their relationship the ideal of what every partnership should be. It’s a wonderfully fulfilling book.”

“White-knuckle thriller. . . . Burke expertly weaves real-life headlines into her plot-particularly the Craig’s List Killer and the slew of recent political scandals-without ever sacrificing originality.”

“The story is not merely ‘ripped from the headlines’; Burke starts with these themes and makes them her own…. Pleasingly complex, with multiple suspects and surprising twists. The characters are richly drawn, and Burke’s prose is as precise as the Glock pistol that Ellie carries…. A page-turner.

“A fast-paced thriller featuring an appealingly current angle, dynamic characters, and a spiderweb of possibilities she manages to leave tied up neatly. Strongly recommended for public libraries, especially where thrillers are popular.”

“Up-to-the-minute, action-packed crime fiction.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780061946110
ISBN-10: 0061946117
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Publication Date: March 23rd, 2010
Pages: 540
Language: English
Series: Ellie Hatcher