Skip to main content

Events

« Week of May 28, 2012 »
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
28
29
Start: 7:00 pm

When the NYT best-selling author of Sh*t My Dad Says, Justin Halpern, tells his father that he’s going to propose to his girlfriend, the initial response is characteristically blunt: “You’ve been dating her for four years. It ain’t like you found a parallel f***ing universe.” But when his father tells him to think back on everything he knows about women first, what emerges is a hilariously awkward litany of un-luck in love, from his disastrous childhood crushes to the night he lost his virginity working as a dishwasher at Hooters.

30
31
Start: 7:00 pm

One object unites the Red Sox with Rafael Nadal, the Patriots with Pelé. In this amazing new history, anthropologist John Fox visits overgrown courts in Mexico and medieval villages, schoolyards and modern stadiums to answer one question: why do we play ball? Part history, part travelogue, in the tradition of Bill Bryson and Mark Kurlansky, Fox unravels the fascinating story behind the object that serves as the basis of our sports and our games.

1
2
Start: 7:00 pm

In this one-of-a-kind reading, we bring you six debut YA novelists with books guaranteed to make those long summer months fly. Come hear the authors of Pretty Crooked, The Miseducation of Cameron Post, Croak,
Scarlet, Fair Coin, and Born Wicked as they spin their YA yarns and talk about writing.

3
Syndicate content