Events

Saturday May 05, 2012
Start: 05/05/2012 7:00 pm

Poet, novelist, journalist, teacher, performer, and patron saint of badassery, Eileen Myles has been an unparalleled virtuoso of letters for nearly four decades. Booksmith is proud to host a night of poetry with a legend and author of Cool For You, Chelsea Girls, Inferno, and her new dual-collection Snowflake/Different Streets.

Monday May 07, 2012
Start: 05/07/2012 7:00 pm

The authors of the uproarious best-selling book Go the
F*** To Sleep
return to the Booksmith to share their new, kid-friendly
version, which lets kids in on the joke. With updated illustrations, including
a cameo by Samuel L. Jackson, Seriously, Just Go To Sleep is the perfect
gift for parents and kids caught in the bedtime battle.

Tuesday May 08, 2012
Start: 05/08/2012 7:00 pm

In this warm, honest, and
funny memoir, popular blogger (Baby Squared)
Jane Roper lays out what it’s like to be the mother of two twin girls, from the
round-the-clock feedings to the ways their very different personalities emerge.
A must read for new parents, no matter how many little ones they have.

Wednesday May 09, 2012
Start: 05/09/2012 7:00 pm

When the prestigious Mariana Academy becomes a hotbed of rumors and
blackmail, budding journalist Iris Dupont, whose only confidant is a
chain-smoking specter of Edward R. Murrow, tries to break into the ranks of the
secret society bringing these rumors to light. But the search for truth has its
own dangers in this debut novel that Gary Shteyngart calls “hysterical and
moving.”

Thursday May 10, 2012
Start: 05/10/2012 6:00 pm

NYT best-selling author Augusten Burroughs (Running with Scissors, Possible Side Effects) returns to the Coolidge with a book of life lessons told with his trademark black-humor. Hear him hold forth on topics as varied as “How to ride an elevator,” “How to find love,” “How to feel sorry for yourself,” “How to end your life,” and more.

Tickets are $5 each. Please call 617-566-6660 for any ticket or book orders for tonight's event. Thanks!

Friday May 11, 2012
Start: 05/11/2012 7:00 pm

Details to be annouced.

Saturday May 12, 2012
Start: 05/12/2012 4:00 pm

In her new book, Harvard
Medical School faculty member and Boston Globe columnist Dr. Suzanne Koven shares a
unique blend of inspiring stories and health information for women over the age
of 50. Join us for this tea-time talk on how to stay healthy in middle-age and
beyond.

Tuesday May 15, 2012
Start: 05/15/2012 7:00 pm

For nearly 20 years, David
Gebler has helped organizations live up to their goals, reinvigorating their
working cultures to make them more efficient and ethically sound. Join us as he
discusses his new book, which focuses on three core values to keep any
organization on the right track.

Wednesday May 16, 2012
Start: 05/16/2012 7:00 pm

Join us as we host two
journalists who have delved deep into hidden subcultures. In Leaving
Mundania
, the editor of Fringe literary journal Lizzie Stark hacks her way into the
magical realm of live-action role-playing, where normal people shed their
business suits to don armor and robes for extravagant, gigantic games of
make-believe.

In The Cornbread
Mafia
, journalist James Higdon exposes the
legacy and legal battles surrounding the largest homegrown marijuana syndicate
in American history. With unprecedented access into this secretive group,
Higdon examines the hidden side of the war on drugs.

Thursday May 17, 2012
Start: 05/17/2012 7:00 pm

Buzz Bissinger (Friday Night Lights, Three Nights in August) is the father of twin boys who couldn’t be more different: Gerry is a grad student at Penn; Zach is a savant, challenged by serious intellectual deficits but blessed with rare talents. Realizing that he’s never understood what it’s like to be his son, Buzz hits the road with Zach on a trip through the best and worst parts of America and learns to see his son for what he is: a man of great character. Susan Orlean calls it “a triumph.”

Friday May 18, 2012
Start: 05/18/2012 7:00 pm

Join us for a night of new fiction, poetry, and essays from the MFA candidates of Emerson, UMASS Boston, and BU. For more information, please visit breakwaterreadingseries.blogspot.com.

Monday May 21, 2012
Start: 05/21/2012 7:00 pm

You must purchase a copy of Fabulicious Fast & Fit at the Booksmith to enter the signing line. 

The Star of Bravo’s The Real Housewives of New Jersey, Celebrity Apprentice contestant, and best-selling author Teresa Giudice swings by the Booksmith to share her new book of the authentic, healthy Italian recipes that she uses to stay “fabulicious” after four kids and nearly 40 years.

Tuesday May 22, 2012
Start: 05/22/2012 7:00 pm

The winner of two Emmys and a George Orwell Award, Rory O’Connor is a journalist, author, filmmaker, entrepreneur and media watchdog. In his new book, he discusses how sites like Facebook and Twitter are changing the world in which we live, from the Arab Spring to Wikileaks to Rebecca Black.

Wednesday May 23, 2012
Start: 05/23/2012 7:00 pm

Dan Zevin (Entry-Level Life, The Day I Turned Uncool) is the least hip citizen of Brooklyn—a stay-at-home dad with two small children, an obese Labrador mutt, and a minivan. But how he got there is a bit of a blur. Join us as Zevin, a humor writer for NPR, Boston Magazine, The Boston Phoenix, and Rolling Stone among others, shares his own hilarious story of slouching reluctantly towards middle-age.

Tuesday May 29, 2012
Start: 05/29/2012 7:00 pm

When the NYT best-selling author of Sh*t My Dad Says, Justin Halpern, tells his father that he’s going to propose to his girlfriend, the initial response is characteristically blunt: “You’ve been dating her for four years. It ain’t like you found a parallel f***ing universe.” But when his father tells him to think back on everything he knows about women first, what emerges is a hilariously awkward litany of un-luck in love, from his disastrous childhood crushes to the night he lost his virginity working as a dishwasher at Hooters.

Thursday May 31, 2012
Start: 05/31/2012 7:00 pm

One object unites the Red Sox with Rafael Nadal, the Patriots with Pelé. In this amazing new history, anthropologist John Fox visits overgrown courts in Mexico and medieval villages, schoolyards and modern stadiums to answer one question: why do we play ball? Part history, part travelogue, in the tradition of Bill Bryson and Mark Kurlansky, Fox unravels the fascinating story behind the object that serves as the basis of our sports and our games.

Saturday June 02, 2012
Start: 06/02/2012 7:00 pm

In this one-of-a-kind reading, we bring you six debut YA novelists with books guaranteed to make those long summer months fly. Come hear the authors of Pretty Crooked, The Miseducation of Cameron Post, Croak,
Scarlet, Fair Coin, and Born Wicked as they spin their YA yarns and talk about writing.

Syndicate content