The World We Found (Large Print / Paperback)

The World We Found Cover Image
$25.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh's Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle's The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar's The World We Found a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls perceptive and often piercing.

About the Author


Thrity Umrigar is the author of five other novels The World We Found, The Weight of Heaven, The Space Between Us, If Today Be Sweet, and Bombay Time and the memoir First Darling of the Morning. An award-winning journalist, she has been a contributor to the Washington Post, Boston Globe, and Huffington Post, among other publications. She is the winner of the Nieman Fellowship to Harvard, Cleveland Arts Prize, and Seth Rosenberg Prize, and is the Armington Professor of English at Case-Western Reserve University.

Praise For…


The World We Found is stunning in its credibility and nuance. . . . This is a novel that rewards reading, and even re-reading. The World We Found is a powerful meditation.”
-Boston Globe

“Luminous. . . . Wise and absorbing, Umrigar’s novel has the rich, chaotic vibrancy of a Mumbai marketplace.”
-People

“Asparkling and sharp slice of life.”
-Nina Sankovitch, Huffington Post

The World We Found is absorbing and resonant.”
-Cleveland Plain Dealer

“Umrigar renders a vivid portrait of modern-day India as she meditates upon the power of friendship, loyalty, and love. Like her previous works, The World We Found is eloquent and evocative, bitter and sweet.”
-Booklist (starred review)

“There’s ample discussion to be had here on the topics of family, friendship, religion and marriage. Umrigar is a lively storyteller. The women are sympathetic characters, their relationships fully realized and deeply felt. . . . Umrigar’s evocative world is one worth finding, indeed.”
-Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Absorbing. . . . A rewarding novel.”
-Publishers Weekly

“A storyteller through and through, Umrigar ensures that her characters face up to the costs and consequences created by their choices, right or wrong, principled or unprincipled.”
-Washington Post

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062107138
ISBN-10: 0062107135
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2012
Pages: 394
Language: English