The Selection (Paperback)

The Selection Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Oct 25 4:28am


The first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, glittering gowns, fierce intrigue, and a dystopian world that will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Praise For…

“An engrossing tale reminiscent of Shannon Hale’s Princess Academy and Ally Condie’s Matched. Fairy-tale lovers will lose themselves in America’s alternate reality and wish that the next glamorous sequel were waiting for them.”
-School Library Journal

“Cass’s immensely readable debut novel is a less drastic Hunger Games, with elaborate fashion and trappings. The fast-paced action will have readers gasping for the upcoming sequel.”

“A cross between The Hunger Games (minus the bloodsport) and The Bachelor (minus the bloodsport), this trilogy launch is a lot of fun. Cass deftly builds the chemistry between America and Maxon, while stroking the embers of America’s first, forbidden love.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Reality T.V. meets dystopian fairy tale in Kiera Cass’s delightful debut. Charming, captivating, and filled with just the right amount of swoon!”
-Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062059949
ISBN-10: 0062059947
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: March 26th, 2013
Pages: 327
Language: English
Series: Selection