Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery (Hardcover)

By Stephanie Barden, Diane Goode (Illustrator)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Stephanie Barden has created a great role model for tweens. Cinderella Smith is confident, smart, and very real. Fans of Junie B. Jones and Clementine will love watching Cinderella conquer the problems of third-grade life, and parents will appreciate the vocabulary-enhancing words Stephanie Barden sprinkles through the story.In The Super-Secret Mystery, third in the Cinderella Smith chapter-book series, Cinderella is excited to write a report on an endangered species. She can t wait to investigate this important environmental issue. But every book she needs to do her research has disappeared from the library That won t stop Cinderella. She won t be stopped by the mean-girl bullies and will follow every clue until she solves the mystery of the missing books.Illustrations by Caldecott Honor winner Diane Goode add to the appeal of Cinderella's story.

About the Author

In between tripping over abandoned shoes, chasing after escaped pets, and searching for lost belongings, Stephanie Barden wrote her first book, Cinderella Smith, which was followed by Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier. The author teaches classes at Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle, where she lives with her husband, Tom; son, Joe; and eighty-pound lapdog, Otis.

Diane Goode is the illustrator of more than fifty beloved and critically acclaimed picture books, including the Caldecott Honor Book When I Was Young in the Mountains by Cynthia Rylant. Inspired by the handwritten letters of the Founding Mothers, she begins with their quill and sepia handwriting and spins out the line to re-create their images and the remarkable events of their lives for a new generation of young readers.

Praise For…

praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: “Funny and clever! Readers will love this modern day Cinderella. It’s a delight…with the most satisfying ending.”
-Patricia Reilly Giff, Newbery Honor winner and author of best-selling Polk Street School series

praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: THE MORE THE MERRIER: “Cinderella is back and as irrepressible as ever. A simple joy of a book, Barden’s story has given third-graders their very own hero whose final decision of inclusiveness is warming.”
-ALA Booklist

praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: THE MORE THE MERRIER: “The sweet first-person narrator [and] black-line illustrations by Diane Goode add to the charm.”
-Seattle Times

praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: Fans of Clementine and Ramona will enjoy good-natured Cinderella’s triumph over mean girls and her success at a tap-dance recital, all embellished by Diane Goode’s simple black-line illustrations.
-Seattle Times

praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: “Cinderella’s bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode’s emotive line drawings, is infectious…It’s hard to leave Cinderella behind.”
-Horn Book Magazine

praise for CINDERELLA SMITH: “Cinderella’s narration carries this early chapter book, and her upper-elementary woes are perfectly captured in her eager and personable voice… Goode’s energetic sketchwork adds to the spirited narrative.”
-The Bulletin of the Center for ChildrenThe Bulletin of the Center for Children

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062004437
ISBN-10: 0062004433
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2013
Pages: 139
Language: English