About Us

Brookline Booksmith opened its doors in 1961 as Paperback Booksmith with the slogan "Dedicated to the fine art of browsing."  And for more than 50 years the Booksmith has been exactly that. Constantly changing with the neighborhood around it, Brookline Booksmith has served the people of Brookline and Boston with its eclectic mix of titles, literate and helpful staff, and seemingly neverending schedule of book signings, talks and poetry readings.

Come visit!  Listen to an author speak at our Readers & Writers Series; read and subscribe to our award-winning newsletter; join our monthly book club (going strong after 10 years!); browse the stacks, both new and used; peruse the always changing Card & Gift Room; check out our popular staff picks; or ask a bookseller for a recommendation. You'll see why Brookline Booksmith has been a standard-bearer for independent bookselling, winning the ABA's Bookstore of the Year in 1998, and Best of Boston from Boston magazine in 7 of the last 9 years.

Directions & Hours

Brookline Booksmith
279 Harvard Street
Brookline MA 02446-2908
Tel: 617-566-6660
Fax: 617-734-9125

Located in Coolidge Corner, less than a block away from the Coolidge Corner T-stop on the "C" line, across the street from the Coolidge Corner Theatre...

For directions to our store we suggest Google Maps.

Open 7 days a week
Monday - Thursday 8:30am - 10pm
Friday 8:30am - 11pm
Saturday 9am - 11pm
Sunday 9am - 9pm

- EMAIL -

general email:
thestore@brooklinebooksmith.com

store manager, booksmith co-owner, Dana Brigham:
dana@brooklinebooksmith.com

assistant manager, Lisa Gozashti:
lisa@brooklinebooksmith.com

assistant manager, Peter Win:
peter@brooklinebooksmith.com

buyer, Alie Hess:
alie@brooklinebooksmith.com

card & gift buyer, Kerri Budryk:
kerri@brooklinebooksmith.com

special orders, Russ Barker:
russ@brooklinebooksmith.com

used book cellar, Carl Annarummo:
ubc@brooklinebooksmith.com

events director, Thomas Wickersham:
events@brooklinebooksmith.com

b-mail editor and promotions, Paul Theriault:
newsletter@brooklinebooksmith.com

brookline booksmith webmanager:
webmanager@brooklinebooksmith.com